Ike Yard, 1982  
Ike Yard
Label: Dark Entries
Release Year: 1983
Style: Pop & Rock
Condition Cover: Very Good
  Dark Entries flashes back to the grimy streets of New York City circa 1982 to bring us an unreleased album from cult outfit Ike Yard.

Comprised of Stuart Argabright, Michael Diekmann, Kenneth Compton, and Fred Szymanski, Ike Yard sits between the sinewy proto-body music of the Neue Deutsche Welle and the shattered grooves of their No Wave peers in New York. The band’s initial run was short but blinding. They released an EP for Les Disques du Crépuscule in 1981, which was followed by their legendary self-titled LP for Factory in 1982. They disbanded within a year, frustrated by the slow pace at which the industry was able to release their increasingly challenging music. 1982 features 10 tracks which likely would have become the band’s second LP - only four of these songs have previously seen release on 2006’s 1980-82 Collected via Acute Records. Following the release of Ike Yard, they continued down their tortured path of hybrid electro-acoustic music with an arsenal of now-classic analog instruments, including the Korg MS-20 and the Roland TR-808. Skittering rhythms teeter on the verge of collapse while seasick synth warbles threaten to push us overboard. Electronic washes devolve into waves of feedback. Sneering basslines threaten dancers to move, but how can the body obey? This is dangerous music, gliding along the brink. The album features a live photo of the band by Makoto Iida and includes an insert with liner notes from Stuart Argabright. 1982 is essential for fans of post-punk and caustic electronics from Liaisons Dangereuses to Beau Wanzer.
      Wish List  
  Price: CHF 32.00   Add to Cart  
  Releases of the same artist  
  Ike Yard, Ike Yard  
Ike Yard
Ike Yard
[Factory America]
NED 1xLP vg/vg Wish List
CHF 40.00 Restocking!
  Releases of the same label  
  Lena Platonos, Gallop  
Lena Platonos
[Dark Entries]
USA 1xLP  Wish List
CHF 25.00 Restocking!
  Patrick Cowley, Mechanical Fantasy Box  
Patrick Cowley
Mechanical Fantasy Box
[Dark Entries]
USA 2xLP  Wish List
CHF 28.00 Add To Cart
49th Floor
Night Passage
Analogue Stories Vol. 1
Ana Frango Eletrico
Little Electric Chicken Heart
[Mr. Bongo]
Beth Gibbons
Lives Outgrown
CJ Bolland
Camargue / Tokyo
Conjunto Papa Upa
Fruta Madura
[Music With Soul]
Dwight Sykes & Jahari
Rock Steady
[Peoples Potential Unlimited]
Funkool Orchestra
Latin Freaks
[Maledetta Discoteca]
Glass Pyramid
Stop It
[Peoples Potential Unlimited]
Jimmie Greene
Let Yourself Go
[Star Creature]
Kava Kon
Tiki For The Atomic Age
[Mello Exotica]
Los Hermanos
Remember Detroit
Max Romeo
Juks We A Juks
Michel Banabila
Unspeakable Visions
Pala G
[Jiwa Jiwa]
Pat And Pats
[Disco Segreta]
Peggy Gou
I Hear You
[XL Recordings]
Ranking Ann
A Slice Of An English Toast
Sam Gendel, Sam Wilkes
The Doober
[Leaving Records]
Scan 7
Black Moon Rising
[Underground Resistance]
Give It To Me
The Revolutionaries
Meditation In Dub
Theo Parrish
I Can Take It
[Sound Signature]
Tim Koh And Sun An
Salt And Sugar Look The Same
[Music From Memory]
OPERAZIONE SOLE - Italian Pop Reggae, Dub & Summer Love Affairs
[Maledetta Discoteca]
Computer Controlled
[Data Sync]
Miles Away: One
[Miles Away Records]
  1. Mike Wallace
Theme & Beat 02
  2. DJ Muggs
Silver Cloud
  3. Lau Ro
  4. Theo Parrish
Lovely Edits Vol.1
  5. EKR
Blaus Bluet
  6. Haitian Star
German 80's Hip Hop 1
  7. Harry James
Off The Record
  8. Jura Soundsystem
Remix Special
  9. Popsicles
Little Rocker / These Are The Good Times
  10. Sugar Minott
One Step Ahead