Sylvia, Sweet Stuff  
Sweet Stuff
Label: We Want Sounds
Release Year: 2021
Style: Funk & Soul
  Wewantsounds is delighted to reissue Sylvia Robinson's super rare soul LP released in 1975 on her Vibration label, part of her All-Platinum/Stang/Turbo empire. A few years later, she would launch Sugarhill Records and put hip hop on the map with "Rapper's Delight" in 1979 and "The Message" in 1982. "Sweet Stuff" features several Sylvia cult classics including "Private Performance," "Soul Je T'aime", a cover of Serge Gainsbourg's "Je T'aime Moi Non Plus" and the mellow favourite "Sho Nuff Boogie" recorded with The Moments. As bonus tracks, the release features "Sho Nuff Boogie, Part 2" which only came out as the single's b-side at the time and the long version of "Soul Je T'aime", all packaged in the album's original artwork.
Born and raised in New York, Sylvia Robinson began recording at a young age under the name "Little Sylvia" in the early 1950s. She gained exposure when she teamed up with Mickey Baker scoring a hit in 1956 with "Love Is Strange" as Mickey & Sylvia. She went on to record many singles during the late 50s and 60s before setting up her own label, All Platinum Records in 1966 followed by Stang Records and Vibration. Through these labels, she had several hit records in the 70s as a producer including The Moments' "Love On A Two Way Street" and Shirley & Co's "Shame Shame Shame". ?
Sylvia Robinson continued to record as a solo artist shortening her name as 'Sylvia'. She got a massive hit of her own with "Pillow Talk" in 1973, a song she'd originally penned with Al Green in mind. The song went to nr 3 in the charts and started a string of other hits over the next few years. In 1973 she covered Serge Gainsbourg's 1969 megahit "Je T'aime Moi Non Plus" renaming it here "Soul Je T'Aime" and duetting with Fania Records' Latin soul singer Ralfi Pagan. ?
The following year was also busy for the singer and producer with three singles that went to the R&B chart: the Soul Ballad "Alfredo", the Funky "Private Performance" and "Sho Nuff Boogie," sung with The Moments. They are all featured on the album "Sweet Stuff" which was released in 1975. Interestingly the song "Sweet Stuff" notoriously sampled by J Dilla for "Crushin'" doesn't appear on this album even if "Sho Nuff Boogie" sounds very much like a forerunner of the song with its similar languorous pace and almost identical melody. "Sweet Stuff" is packed with other tasty soul songs including "I Can't Help It", "The Notion" and "Love Is The Only Thing."
Four years later in 1979, Sylvia Robinson would make another genius move with the launch of Sugarhill Records and the Sugarhill Gang's single "Rapper's Delight" which would revolutionize music and almost single-handedly launch hip hop but that's another chapter of Sylvia Robinson's life. Wewantsounds is delighted to reissue one of her rarest albums from her best 70s period for the first time in decades and make it available on vinyl.
      Wish List  
  Price: CHF 37.00   Add to Cart  
  Releases of the same artist  
  The Hesitations / Sylvian Vesta, C'mon  
The Hesitations / Sylvian Vesta
[The Bear Essentials]
GBR 7inch  Wish List
CHF 16.00 Add To Cart
  Sylvia Striplin, Give Me Your Love  
Sylvia Striplin
Give Me Your Love
[Uno Melodic Records]
USA 12inch /vg Wish List
CHF 25.00 Restocking!
  Releases of the same label  
  No items found ..  
38 Spesh & Benny The Butcher
Present Trust The Sopranos
[Air Vinyl]
Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad
[Jazz Is Dead]
Talk Memory
[XL Recordings]
Big C
[SWC Records]
Bremer / McCoy
[Luaka Bop Records]
Chief Rugged
Return To Forever
[Haus Und Baum]
Danay Suarez
Viaje en Dub
DJ Haitian Star
Klassik Breaks Und Beats
[360° Records]
Fred The Godson
[Air Vinyl]
Deuxième Vague
Jay Electronica
A Written Testimony
[Roc Nation]
Let Love Rumpel (Part 1)
Kondi Band
We Famous
[Strut Records]
Leroy Burgess & LOGG
LOGG (Marc Mac Remix)
[Omniverse ]
I Need You
[Past Due]
Okyerema Asante
Drum Message
[Strut Records]
Planet Asia x A Plus Tha Kid
Cashmere Corners
[Air Vinyl]
The Allergies
Promised Land
The Good People
The Greater Good
[Next Records]
Tony Burkill
Work Money Death
[Ata Records]
  1. Windsurfer
The Gone City
  2. Bless The Mad
Bless The Mad
  3. Big C
  4. International Sangman
Death Rows And Spirit Ways
  5. Your Old Droog & Tha God Fahim
Tha YOD Fahim
  6. Flying Lotus
  7. Leisure Dub featuring Armanious
Weekend Waiting
  8. Maston
  9. Andreas Hofer
  10. Bremer / McCoy