Jonathan Kirby, Safe To Disconnect  
Jonathan Kirby
Safe To Disconnect
Label: Second Thoughts Records
limited edition
Release Year: 2021
Style: Hip-Hop & R'n'B
  1.Sussex 03:45
2.Vernon 02:23
3.Down On The Road By The Street 01:08
4.Roslyn 02:02
5.Womble 02:19
6.Stratford 02:37
7.Runnymede 01:29
8.Warwick 02:08
9.Never My Love 03:31
10.Beekman 01:14
11.Passyunk 01:31
12.Brices Creek 01:14
13.Greenleaf 01:05
14.Rutherford 01:45
15.Smallwood 01:04
16.Audobon 00:43
17.Chagrin Falls 01:05
18.菅刈公園 (Sugekari Park) 01:28
19.Bosworth 02:36
20.宥実 (Yuumi) 02:52
21.美晴 (Miharu) 01:58
  Safe to Disconnect was written and recorded during the week of April 5th 2020, at the onset of nationwide orders to shelter in place. Using an electric piano, Moog synthesizer, and an array of antique drum machines and battery powered keyboards, Jonathan Kirby assembled simple and soothing compositions on a 4-track recorder, drawing inspiration from the stillness of his North Carolina environs. During evening walks under towering trees in bloom, melodies would manifest, becoming songs by evening. Each song is named for the Winston-Salem street that it was conceived along.

A limited number of tapes were made available, each containing a unique recording crafted for each individual. These personalized songs served as postcards and wellness checks to those who were experiencing varying shades of the same uncertainty.

The vinyl incarnation of “Safe To Disconnect” was mastered by Emanuele Baratto at Big Snuff Studio and includes three previously unreleased tracks (19, 20, 21). The culmination of this bountiful period of songwriting renders a tender, private songbook that is succinct and engaging, melodic, yet relaxed. Containing nearly 40 minutes of music, this special vinyl edition comes housed in a high-quality Stoughton tip-on jacket, bearing artwork reminiscent of the hand-hewn rag rugs, ubiquitous in the rural south of Kirby's upbringing. As an album, Safe to Disconnect is a cohesive portrait of a casual instrumentalist, crafting comforting melodies, each celebrating the small daily victories of remaining composed and gracefully enduring during a disruptive and disorienting period in human history.
      Wish List  
  Price: CHF 26.00   Add to Cart  
  Releases of the same artist  
  No items found ..  
  Releases of the same label  
  Andreas Hofer, Feuer Auf Dem Dach Der Welt  
Andreas Hofer
Feuer Auf Dem Dach Der Welt
[Second Thoughts Records]
SUI 1xLP  Wish List
CHF 24.00 Add To Cart
  Andreas Hofer, Tonträger  
Andreas Hofer
[Second Thoughts Records]
SUI 1xLP  Wish List
CHF 30.00 Add To Cart
Freda Payne
We've Gotta Find A Way Back To Love
[Pressure Makes Diamonds]
Jonathan Kirby
Safe To Disconnect
[Second Thoughts Records]
Joyner Lucas
[Twenty Nine Music Group]
King Tubby
Dub Mix Up - Rare Dubs 1975 - 1979
[Jamaican Recordings]
Sheila Tetteh-Quaye
Blue Skies
[That's Why Records]
  1. Crimeapple
Matalos Con Mas Exitos
  2. Derrick Cross
Never Too Much
  3. Madlib
Sound Ancestors (Arranged By Kieran Hebden)
  4. V/A
The Key To Our Love Vol.1
  5. Bassline Ft. Lorraine Chambers
You've Gone
  6. Benedek
Mr. Goods
  7. DJ Muggs The Black Goat
Dies Occidendum
  8. Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & London Symphony
  9. Mad Honey
Upward Bound
  10. Roots